Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robwaxman

Floppy Butterfly Bushes

robwaxman
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

Im new to butterfly bushes. This Spring, I planted Nanho Blue and Black Knight bushes. I dont have many stalks that are upright, most of them are flattened (see pic). Any advice as to how to get all of the stalks to stand straight up?

Thanks.

Comments (8)

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

Sorry I can't explain what's wrong. I grew quite a few 'Black Knight' butterfly bushes from seed via winter sowing and all are growing upright & lush. This is their 4th year since being grown from seed. All are healthy, full & at least 5 ft. tall. Buddleia isn't listed in any of my perennial books so I'm guessing it's considered a shrub.

Do you have them planted in full sun? They definitely need plenty of sun in order to perform best. I can't tell from the picture if yours are growing in sun or shade. All mine are planted in full- to part-sun. My garden soil is sandy loam which may or may not be what they prefer.

Just a suggestion, but you could Google Buddleia + growing conditions and see what pops up.

• Karolina11
    10 years ago

Are you fertilizing them or the lawn around them? What does that look like? I have had a few floppy plants from over fertilizing them due to the amount of feeding I was giving my lawn and roses planted next to them.

• robwaxman
    Original Author
    10 years ago

They definately get sufficient sun. The lawn around them is fertilized, but I am pretty careful not to get any on the soil. I havent tried pruning them at all. Can that be why?

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

robwaxman - I don't think the problem is pruning--normally Buddleia/butterfly bushes should be pruned in the spring before they begin leafing out for the season. Normally I don't fertilize anything in my garden and I've an entire acre of property that's filled with perennial beds.