Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
proudgrma

Tiny flies eating hydrangeas and more

proudgrma
15 years ago

I'm not good at identifying insects and "destroyers of plants", though I know slimy ole slugs when I see 'em. My partial shade gardens are swarming with these little teensy flies, maybe a little irredescent? They are eating up my hydrangea leaves and fly out of most plants I walk by or touch. Do you know what they are and how to get rid of them? I could submit a picture of the leaves if that is helpful, but it's too dark right now! Thanks.

Comments (18)

• lindac
    15 years ago

I know of no "teensy flies" that would be eating up hydranges leaves.
    There are white flies but they suck sap and are for sure not irridescent....aphids? but they also suck sap and don't fly out.
    I am guessing you are seeing a small sweat bee type of insect and the destruction of the leaves is happeniong at night...by slugs or perhaps caterpillers.
    Linda C

• gazania_gw
    15 years ago

My "Quick Fire" is positivly swarming with all kinds of flies/bees and Pennsylvania Leatherwings. None of them seem to be doing any real harm to the leaves and flowers. I believe that they are just there for the pollen. This shrub was planted in early summer last year. What little bloom it had last summer was quickly destroyed by Japanese Beetles. This year the shrub is blooming heavily and I am seeing very few JBs on it. Maybe all those other guys are keeping them away. Fine with me.

• proudgrma
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I will get a picture of the leaves and possibly the insect and post it later. Thanks so far!

• proudgrma
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Here are a couple photos of the leaves and the little flies that seem to be eating them. Any help in identifying them and what remedy is available is greatly appreciated.

{{gwi:256761}}

{{gwi:256762}}

{{gwi:256763}}

• phyl345
    15 years ago

oooohhhh ... that's exactly what i have!