Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Move giant Goatsbeard, or move Krossa Regal hosta?

I think I did not realize quite how big the goatsbeard was going to get. The Krossa Regal is completely hidden behind it. The Krossa Regal is about 9 years old. The goatsbeard is about 3-4 years old, and is about 4 feet wide.

Ideally IâÂÂd like to move the goatsbeard to behind the hosta. But if itâÂÂs easy to kill by moving it, IâÂÂll move the hosta.

And, when is the best time? I thought IâÂÂd wait til fall, so I could cut back the goatsbeard first to be able to handle it better. Or am I better off waiting til next spring, and doing it while it is still small? Thanks!

Comments (6)

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

I'm no expert but it has been my experience that under most conditions, hosta is virtually indestructible so it might be preferable to move that rather than the goatsbeard.

Normally it isn't advisable to dig & move things during the heat of the summer--spring or fall are generally the best times to dig/divide/move things. Digging/dividing in fall allows the plant to establish roots prior to winter dormancy. Doing so in spring means the plant is trying to establish roots and break dormancy at the same time.

Good luck, whatever you decide.

• roxanna
    10 years ago

this link to the Hosta forum will help you to move the Krossa. i used the method to move a huge clump of Siberian iris, and it worked great!
    http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hosta/msg0614155422721.html

Here is a link that might be useful: moving large hosta

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

that link is brilliant.. lol ....

KR is a large hosta.. you can retard its size if improperly moved ...

otherwise.. do what the link tells you ....

though in my experience the other perennial would be less work .. lol ... the root mass on the KR could be spine bending ...

ken

• trovesoftrilliums
    10 years ago