Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rouge21_gw

Banana Cream Shasta Daisy

This is my first year of having any daisies in my garden and I have 6 of these Banana Cream! I planted them last September so this is their first summer.

They bloomed all about the same time starting in late June or so and the blooms lasted about 3 to maybe 4 weeks. However these same first flowers have deteriorated more or less at the same time with just a few flower buds in behind. I tried to selectively deadhead the spent flowers but as I said they were mostly 'spent' at the same time so now I have 5 healthy green plants with no flowers and just a hint of maybe more to come. Does that make sense ie maybe no flowers in most of August?

Comments (21)

• tepelus
    12 years ago

That sounds right. Shasta daisies bloom in June-July and by now they are spent, with maybe an occasional flower here or there, and are done blooming for the year.

Karen

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

you sound like somewhat of a newbie ...

your first mistake.. was planting 6 of one thing...

you have now learned that any given plant.. has a pretty short bloom season ...

my best advice.. no more than 3 of anything ... and 4 groups ... at least one for each season ... plus some bulbs ...

spring = bulbs
    then you will need some plants for:

june
    july
    august
    and fall ....

not much blooms in august... but sedum comes to mind ...

fall.. your standard mums ... and autumn clematis ...

june would be most of your typical annuals ...

and you have july all set ...

more hardcore deadheading might have extended the daisy bloom ... as you made it sound like you were almost afraid to do it too vigorously ... but they still peak for the most part .. leaving you a lot of summer ans fall with nothing else ...

good luck

ken

• rouge21_gw (CDN Z5b/6a)
    Original Author
    12 years ago