Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rouge21_gw

your favorite Agastache?

I have a spot that is currently occupied by an Aster frikartii "Monch". In lots of ways it is a good performing plant. Most notably is the lengthy duration of bloom i.e. It starts to flower in late July or early August and this continues into fall. As well it is definitely a water sipper...very important to me. The only negatives are that it is a bit of a flopper and given its location I would like the flowers to be more visible from more of a distance.

(current picture below)

I am contemplating using an Agastache instead in this very much full sun location. I have no experience with Agastache and so I need your advice.

When do Agastache begin to bloom?

Are they as hardy as this Aster I have now? And is it similarly water conserving?

And what are you favorite blue or purpley flowered Agastache?

This post was edited by rouge21 on Sun, Aug 25, 13 at 7:26

Comments (23)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago

LOL!! I just reread your post, rouge, after composing my ode to agastache and then realized your last line asked specifically for blue or purple agastache..........and these are my very least favorite of any types (sorry!). The ones I favor are those most beloved by hummers and in the intense "hot" color palate - reds, oranges, tangerines, corals, yellows. These are very long bloomers for me (started in July - will go till frost in late October), drought tolerant and require virtually no care. They just need really good siting as far as drainage is concerned, especially with our wet PNW winters.

If you want to add some serious color, my faves include 'Firebird', 'Summer Glow' (love the yellow flowers held against the dark purple calyces!) and just plain old apricot colored Agastache rupestris (aka rootbeer plant).

• rouge21_gw (CDN Z5b/6a)
    Original Author
    10 years ago