Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daysquid

Part Sun Showstopper by Season

daysquid
11 years ago

I'm interested in succession planting for a part sun garden -- and I am new to gardening. Tell me which flowering plant steals the shower for each season: Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter (of course). Thanks!

Comments (21)

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For autumn blooms in part shade/sun, Japanese anemones, cimicifuga and wood aster (Aster divaricatus or now Eurybia divaricata) are all showstopping performers once established. Hosta plantaginea can also be a spectacular late summer bloomer when grown in the right conditions.

• kimka
    11 years ago

Fall: Cardinal flower, Monkshood and hardy plumbago are three of my favorite, especially the bright red of the cardinal flower combined with the yellow of rubeckia.

Spring: To me, the daffodils are the stars, especially if you plant early, middle and late blooming bulbs in quantity. The other star in part sun are the foxgloves. I also love the way redbuds look.

Summer: June and July are the weakest time in my garden. I'm still hunting for a show stopping bloomer in my part sun garden, but I haven't found one yet.

Winter: The shrubs have it here--witch hazel and daphne.

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    11 years ago

I completely forgot to include seasons other than fall in my response above.

Spring: Bulbs such as Scilla siberica, Chionodoxa sardensis, Eranthis hyemalis and variants of Crocus tommasinianus can be easily established and naturalized for a spectacular spring show in part shade. Many other "minor" bulbs would also fit this niche nicely. For perennials, Dodecatheon meadia and Gillenia trifoliata are not often seen but can really put on a good show.