Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

need help on allium summer beauty

v1rt
10 years ago

It's my first time to see this beautiful plant. There were hundreds of them at Three Oaks Road Recreation Area. It is gorgeous!

So I went to Goebberts Garden yesterday. They helped me id it. They actually have them in one of their east facing greenhouse(outside). Unfortunately, they 're sold out. They told me to come back in May 2014. That's a long wait for me. :)

How are they planted? Are they planted as bulbs?

Comments (18)

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

Hey Neil

I don't have much experience with alliums but do know they're bulbs that bloom in spring. I planted a few in my own & my neighbor's flowerbeds a couple of years ago.

Liked their flower heads but not the ugly foliage. Foliage turned brown long before the flowers bloomed so it wasn't a pretty show IMHO. I'm all for adding color, form & texture but I want things that provide all three simultaneously without the drawback of ugly foliage.

• crunchpa
    10 years ago

I grabbed this Allium . I do not remember the name. Anybody have an idea? Its blooming now. I purchased mine in a pot. I think I will divide it this fall. It does not spread at all.

{{gwi:265712}}

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

crunchpa - the photo posted above does not appear to display an allium, at least not any allium I've ever seen. Alliums generally have large, round flower heads slightly larger than a baseball but smaller than a basketball, closer in size to a bowling ball. Can you post a close-up pic of the flower?

If you Google allium & select images you'll get a clearer picture of what I'm talking about.

• linlily
    10 years ago

crunchpa, is your plant Allium senescens perhaps? I received some in a trade this year and did research on it before the trade. I remember the pictures of it looking a lot like your plant.

Linda

• katob Z6ish, NE Pa
    10 years ago