Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nataliew_gw

Need help deciding what to plant and where?

NatalieW
10 years ago

I'm working on redesigning or cleaning up my garden. I don't know what to put in it. I am not really good at design and learn as I go. I'll try and post pictures but will have to put in multiple posts. Keep in mind we had to have our retaining wall redone so we had to cut some plants down to make way for the wheelbarrow.
The garden is south facing in zone 6 NY. The BB and ornamental grass stay. Right now I have purple coneflower, black eyed Susan's, Shasta daisies, day lilies (have to go, I don't like them), had some bee balm that didn't do well, and some balloon flowers. Bare spot in this picture is where my daisies and some more black eyed Susan are.

The garden is seen from all sides. Please help.

Comments (19)

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Coneflowers seeded themselves.

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Bottom of steps.

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Opposite side

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

One last picture.

• crunchpa
    10 years ago

Irrigation?

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hand watering. Wish I had another way.

• NatalieW
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Didn't realize how dark that last picture was. Here's a lighter one.

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

Have you considered any of these? All are growing/thriving in full sun where I am.

Baptisia australis/false indigo
    Chelone/turtlehead
    Nepeta/catmint
    Stokesia/Stoke's aster
    Hibiscus moscheutos/hardy hibiscus
    Agastache rupestris/sunset hyssop
    Campanula persicifolia/bellflower
    Penstemon/beardtongue
    Coreopsis/tickseed
    Euphorbia polychroma/Cushion spurge
    Liatris spicata/gayfeather
    Perovskia atriplicifolia/Russian sage
    Phlox paniculata/tall garden phlox