Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atekk_gw

Planting perrenials in October?

ATekk
12 years ago

Hi all,

I am about to place my first order with Santa Rosa gardens just because of the fantastic sale and good reviews on Daves. Since I am still new to gardening though I need some input.

In selecting a shipping date I am not sure what is best. My Bluestone order this spring really thrived and all plants got to full size rarely quickly. I am concerned about this fall order of plants not having enough time if I plant them now to get established for the winter. Will I be ok if I have them shipped out next week and plant them next weekend? I know fall is a common time for planting and transplanting but is there anything I can do to assure that they survive the winter or if possible should I delay shipment till the spring?

Thank you!

Comments (13)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

i would wonder if FL plants will have time to harden off properly in your zone ... before a hard frost/freeze???

i dont know the answer ... but i do know .. i have struggled with spring mailings from warmer zones ..

after that concern.. winter heave is a problem for me.. in my z5 ... might or might not be an issue for you ... the plants may not have the time to root in enough .. in the cold soil.. this could be offset by deep mulching once dormant ...

ken

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    12 years ago

You should have no problem. I do this all the time and I am considerably closer to winter than you are. The soil is warm and the air cooler in the fall, so the plants can grow roots without heat stress. I usually mulch them well (though not right against the stems) to help keep the soil warmer for longer and to prevent frost heaves over winter and early spring. We have a short spring and a longer fall and I usually find plants do better planted in fall, regardless of whether they are perennials, deciduous woodies or evergreens.

• ATekk
    Original Author
    12 years ago