Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juniemarie46

Puzzled by Veronica spicata

juniemarie46
9 years ago

They may be performing normally but since this is my first time growing them I'm not sure what to expect.
Both in mostly full sun. Variety is Tickled Pink. The plant itself seem to do well in both spots, but one bloomed and the other did not, although it grew from about 3' wide to 14" wide�.but no blooms. Actually the one that got the most sun and spread the widest is the one with no blooms.
What exactly are their favorite growing conditions?
Also can they be transplanted? thanks dolores

Comments (6)

• sunnyborders
    9 years ago

Some of the answer, at least, presumably depends on where you are and how you manage your garden.

I've planted quite a few veronicas, in sunny well-drained locations, in our garden, where the soil is made friable with the addition of organic material worked into it and there's no stress from drought (for young or for established plants). Should be good for Veronica spicata and related hybrid Veronica cultivars.

Re the longevity of Veronica spicata and related hybrids, however well they're treated.

Of the various Veronica spicata or hybrid Veronica cultivars (e.g. Royal Candles = 'Glory' and 'Sunny Border Blue') I planted more than five years ago in our mixed perennial beds, none have survived. They did well for a few years, but they never reached the stage of requiring division.

Of the more recent additions, the hybrid Veronica 'Purpleicious' has survived five years and 'First Love' three. Several other cultivars only lasted 2 years.

Consequently, I'd say that even if you get the general horticultural instructions right, Veronica spicata and related hybrids don't last any longer than many (probably the majority of) perennial plants, at least in our growing situation. They frequently just make to the status of "perennial".