Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terrie_carrozzella

new gardener. What do ii cut back?

Terrie Carrozzella
16 years ago

Hi

i'm fairly new to gardening and I am not sure what i am supposed to cut back, or when. I did read the discussion about Fall vs. Spring cutting back ,and not only don't i know that, but i don't know WHAT to cut..do i cut back ALL perrenials? I assume you don't cut back things like irises or other bulbs?

i ahve tall flox (which got chewed by deer, but one bloomed anyway), peonies, (the newsest one still has waxy green leaves- it never bloomed but looks healthy),butterfly bush which is just now blooming, bleeding hearts which are now just yellow leaves.

how do you determine what to cut back, and when the plant is "ready"?

thanks

terrie

Comments (13)

• Saypoint zone 6 CT
    16 years ago

There are a several kinds of cutting back. One kind is done in early summer to encourage bushy growth or control size. Another is done after blooming to tidy up or encourage rebloom, and is often referred to as deadheading. Then there is the clean-up, done either in fall or spring. The link below is a good guide to deadheading.

This time of year, everyone is talking about cleaning up. In my garden, bleeding hearts turn yellow by late summer, and I cut the foliage to the ground. Hopefully, I've planted something to take its place, or I'm left with a hole where it used to be until spring.

Peony foliage can harbor botrytis blight, so once it dies back, I clean it up and put it in the trash. Same with the Phlox foliage and stems, which are prone to powdery mildew. Better to clean up and discard any leftover bits.

I leave butterfly bush until late winter/early spring, at which time I cut it back hard. Some books say to cut them almost to the ground, but I lost one this way, so I cut it back to a couple of feet tall.