Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daysquid

Online plants smaller than nurseries?

daysquid
11 years ago

I'm a newbie gardner so if these questions sound silly, please forgive me. I've just ordered my first online plants from a couple of suppliers. They came in small pots as advertised -- 3" - 5" and of course nurseries in my area have 1 gallon, 2 gallon, etc. Will these small plants take quite a few years to catch up to the same variety of plants that I purchased in a 2 gallon pot?

Comments (10)

• mistascott
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Depends on the plant, but likely not. Usually plants are sold in quart or gallon containers at nurseries. I think quarts are roughly 4 or 4.5" wide. Some of the rock garden type plants are sold in 3.5" containers.

Unless the plant is particularly slow growing, I don't think getting a quart vs. a gallon would set you back more than one growing season.

• mxk3 z5b_MI
    11 years ago

Mail-order plants are generally pretty small. If you have access to good local nurseries that have what you want, I recommend buying your materials there for a couple reasons: (a) support your local economy, and (b) often it's a better deal - you can often get clearance rack plants this time of year very inexpensively and/or you can divide those larger pots of perennials into multiple smaller plants.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

heres how it works ...

what you are getting this fall ... is what .. most likely.. would be up-potted to one gallon next spring ....

which would probably be equivalent to a 2 gallon by fall ...

in the nursery trade ... the amount you pay .. is equivalent to time or age ...

so your presumable 'cheaper' fall plants ... are just younger ...

if you want immediate gratification .. then pay the piper ...