Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
verthwy

perennial pre-planned garden

verthwy
9 years ago

Hi! I'm new to planting perennials & finally will have a 15 x 6 foot bed to start this fall.

I'm putting in a sunny flower bed in the middle of our yard. It will be viewed mostly from 2 sides. I'm in zone 6, in higher elevations of Berks Co, PA. I'm seeking to hide a 12 inch diameter pipe that rises 2 feet from the ground.

The colors I want to use are blues/purples & peach/apricot, possibly a cream or white. I'd like choices that bloom from spring to summer as much as possible. I'd also like to include a grass with some movement. We live out in the country, so deer, rabbits & groundhogs are potential problems.

I was hoping to find a pre-planned garden plan, with all the flowers, colors, heights, textures, & bloom times figured out for me, but haven't been able to locate any that suited me. Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks for any help!

Comments (2)

• pitimpinai
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hello glorybrite,
    That is an impressive flower bed you are planning.

I have been gardening for 28 years. It took that long for me before I am especially happy with the results.

Gardening is a process of trials and errors. Many factors affect the results: your own inclination, time and energy dedicated to the garden, your own terrain and most specifically your own microclimate.

I learned that plants and combinations that look stunning in books or any pre-planned garden or in someone else's garden do not translate well in real life because of these factors. You will have to try the plants yourself to see what works for you.

I have not found many perennials that bloom from spring through summer. What I did was planning for a succession of blooms, choosing plants that offer long interest, and varying the shapes, shades, textures, heights and colors instead.