Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
renatam_gw

How mature or how many eyes for peony to bloom?

RenataM
11 years ago

Hi! I have been planning on putting several peonies in my garden and just recently found out that they don't bloom for a few years! :(. I don't want to give up on the idea but i would love to purchase them so they are ready to bloom, if they are even sold that way anywhere. (I might not even be living here in a few years!)

On-line I see most places talk about 2 to 3 eyes. How big is that? How old? How old do they need to be to expect flowers? Also, any recommendations as to where to get them from? I live in Plymouth, Michigan.

I am new at gardening! I would greatly appreciate any help! :)

Comments (6)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

WELL.. here is your first gardening lesson.. patience .. lol ...

i have planted 6 inch conifers.. so i could enjoy them in 10 years or so ..

whats your hurry???

you plant some annuals for immediate gratification.. but they die at the end of the year.

then at the same time you start collecting perrenials that will live much longer..

peony in particular.. can live.. 100 years .. and you cant wait a couple years ..

think of it this way.. peony has HUGE flowers .. it isnt going to produce such.. until it has a root mass sufficient to feed such.. so that is summed up by.. grow the roots and the flower will follow ... and in this case.. it could take 3 to 5 years ...

and when they talk about eyes.. they are talking about a root mass ... so a plant that has 3 eyes.. should have more roots than a one eye plant.. so that should cut your time line down a bit ... but with planting stresses .. i would not be surprised that it might take a few years to really get going ...

all that said.. you HAVE TO HAVE AT LEAST ONE ...

and there are tricks to how to plant such.. those eyes.. should be at soil level.. not below ...