Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris1023_gw

Preparing for winter

chris1023
13 years ago

Hi - I am new to perennial gardening. We had a new retaining wall built which required the removal of our large and not so attractive shrubs. We decided to go with perennials and the result was very nice. However, my question is what is the best course of action as the cold weather is approaching. Which plants get cut back and which should be left along, etc. I've searched the web and there are so many different answers that I thought I would ask you all what works best for you.

On the sunny/part shade side of the house we planted bee balm, coreopsis, gayfeather, coneflower and some groundcover - spotted dead nettle and ajuga. On the shady/part sun side we planted brunnera, pulmonaria and heuchera. Lots of deer in our area as you have probably guessed.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (7)

• simcan
    13 years ago

You will probably find you get as many answers here as you have found on (the rest of) the Internet.

That said, my own approach is that if there is not a reason to take something down, leave it up. Reasons to take something down would include: (A) ugliness (there are few that fit into this category for me, I like the different elevations and textures as the season develops, and some things (e.g., ornamental grasses) are positively lovely); (B) disease/pests (though I personally don't subscribe much to this one, especially since along with overwintering pests will be overwintering beneficials); and (C) unwanted seeding.