Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

Disappointing Heuchera die-offs

I have been planting the newer fancy leaved heucheras for a couple of years now. I still love them but I have had a greater die-off rate with them as a group than with any other perennial. (Except for Palace Purple, nothing kills them. knock on wood...) I thought I'd post this and see if others have had a similar experience. These are in 4 different well-amended beds.

This year's losses:

Two year old plants:

1 Dolce Creme Brulee, 1 Key Lime Pie, both in same area

1 Purple Petticoats, different bed.

1 Regina, different bed.

Plants bought this spring:

2 Crimson Curls, were planted right next to the Regina above. (3 dead heucheras in a row? What is this, poison dirt?)

1 Silver lace, different bed.

Comments (66)

• remy_gw
    16 years ago

I'm really good at killing them too! I will get them when super discounted or in trade. I've found they don't like my shady areas. Those areas hold too much moisture in the winter for their liking it seems. The few I've planted in much drier areas like in a sunny border but under a shrub seem to have survived at a better rate.
    I have much better luck with tiarellas in my shady areas and handling the winter moisture.
    Remy

• christinmk z5b eastern WA
    16 years ago

I forgot to mention that I lost a Creme Brule; I forgot to mention it because he barely made it past five months in my garden! Ive given up on buying the newer Heuchera (and Coneflowers), there just too expencive and dont seem to last long at all. I saw Midnight Rose and Ginger Ale at a local plant fair, but I didnt want to waste my money on them. I guess most of them will just have to be treated as a tender perennial or annual. I agree with Remy that Tiarella, a cousin of Heuchera, is a great alternitive. Tellima grandiflora (a Pasific NW native) is also another great option.
    CMK

• maria
    16 years ago