Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Black Eye Susan Coneflowers winter

Posted by kgardening 8 (My Page) on
Sun, Nov 5, 06 at 4:39

Hello,

Does anyone have any suggestions of what to do with Coneflowers and black-eyed susans now that winter is coming? Should I cut them back or just let them die back. They still have green leaves. This is my first year growing them and they did pretty well. I am hoping they will come back next year. Not sure what to do with the perennials that are planted and want to be sure I remember where and what I have planted.

The garden bed is mixed in with some annuals and bulbs that will come up in spring. I want to clean up the beds but do not really know how to take care of the soil and not disturb the spots that have bulbs coming up for next year.

thanks
kgardening

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Black Eye Susan Coneflowers winter

• Posted by sinai 7/Alabama (My Page) on
    Sun, Nov 5, 06 at 7:29

You can cut the flower stalks back or leave the cone heads if any for the birds to eat....I just let any foilage die back over winter and then in the spring when new leaves start to come up I remove the old foilage....Drawing little diagrams of my beds helps me keep up with my plants too...approximate placement and how many, nothing fancy. If it was me and I did cut them back to clean up the beds now I would be sure to leave it a few inches high to make it easier to find in the spring...some plants leave enough residue over the winter to easily see where it was and sometimes it just disappears and that's when diagrams or tags of some kind come in handy...Something else that helps in the spring is patience....:)

Paul

o

Thanks,