Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chaven_gw

Winterizing perennials?

chaven
9 years ago

Just moved into a new home with lots of established garden beds, and no idea what's planted in them. My wife and I have little to no garden experience, so I'm wondering if we're supposed to cut back all the plants (assuming they're perennials) for the winter, or if I should just leave them alone and let them take care of themselves? And if some do need cut back, how do I know which need cut back and which don't?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Comments (19)

• chaven
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thought this might help; here are a few of the plants that I'm not sure what to do with.

• chaven
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And here.

• chaven
    Original Author
    9 years ago

One more:

• rouge21_gw (CDN Z5b/6a)
    9 years ago

'chaven', I was just going to start a thread with a similar question. If you don't mind I will expand on your post.

There are many herbaceous plants for which one is advised not to cut back in the Fall thereby better ensuring survival over the winter. The two obvious examples are the "Butterfly Bush" and "Chrysanthemum".

To be honest I am not sure exactly why this helps these particular plants to more likely overwinter. My "hand waving" answer is that with upright stems snow is more readily "trapped" around the base thereby better insulating it from the temperature vagaries one experiences from November to March.

But what is good for the goose should be good for the gander? That is leave all plants uncut to receive the same perceived benefits? Of course this action (or lack of) is not applicable to a diseased plant.

So I am one that more often than not does not cut back until spring. And of course I know that many of you do the opposite.

This post was edited by rouge21 on Mon, Nov 24, 14 at 14:51

• wisconsitom
    9 years ago