Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can You divide Clematis?

Posted by donnabaskets 7b-8 MS (My Page) on
Sat, Nov 14, 09 at 17:26

I have a Rugoochi (clueless on spelling this one). It is nearly indestructible it seems. I accidentally cut it back at the ground once while moving its rose partner and it came back better than ever. Can it be divided? I have another place I could use it.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can You divide Clematis?

I'm not very experienced, but I would suggest the quick answer is yes. I tried to dig up one once to remove it permanently, but a new plant came up again the next spring!

o

A couple of clematis (both vining and non-vining)split off into different pieces when I dug them up to move the plant. All parts have gone on to grow and bloom well. I have read/heard that a clematis will sometimes reappear from roots left in the ground when the plant itself was moved.

o

I'd ask on the clematis forum, but I think that in general clematis don't divide the way most perennials will. You can get new ones, however, by rooting a stem of your current plant. Peg down and lightly cover with soil a stem of your existing plant at a leaf node (where the leaves attach to a stem.) Wait at least a year for roots to develop. Clip free and move when a healthy root system has developed.

o

In any of the books that I have on clematis, dividing is only talked about on the heracleifolias and integrifolias (of which Roguchi is a hybrid). How a hybrid of integrifolia is going to respond to traditional digging and dividing is up for grabs.

That being said, sometimes any type of clematis may get larger and have limbs lay on the ground and root as described by nhbabs. That would be the most advantageous means of propogating any clematis if that is your goal. Then again, if you subscribe to the idea of "nothing ventured, nothing gained", you could give traditional digging and dividing a chance and see what happens.

o