Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mxk3

I did it!

mxk3 z5b_MI
9 years ago

I actually got all my bulbs planted and most of my perennials cut down!

Still had to plant tulip and hyacinth bulbs, and with the warm-up today into the 50s, I figured I better get it done before the really cold weather sets in. Done!

I also wanted to clean up the porch/walkway area because I'm having a house full of people on Thursday for Thanksgiving and the perennials and leaf litter looked really ratty. Well, I got on a roll and just kept going and going and going...pretty much everything is cut back now except the brunnera and a few other perennials which are still green. This is such an accomplishment for me, I've been leaving a mess over winter for many years, and it just looks so much better when the beds are tidied up before the winter and snow set in.

I just had to too my own horn ;0b

Comments (26)

• southerngardening24
    9 years ago

Congrats! It does feel great when such a task is accomplished and it is alot of work. I got alot of that done Saturday and was going to finish up today but it rained all day. Now you can concentrate on all the thanksgiving preparations. :-) Or you could place another bulb order like I did. :-)

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago

Toot, toot, toot, I'm leading the parade for you! Work seems to go quickly when one is in the zone and what a great feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction to be done.

Yesterday was 50+ here. I made a winter pot for the front door with a cheap small pine tree and pine cones, dried hydrangea blooms, etc. from the garden. Also made a swag to hang on the deck. Temps are back in the 20s with light snow today and no highs above freezing expected in the next week.

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

• sunnyborders
    9 years ago

Shoulders and knees still recovering from planting spring bulbs, but totally finished on November 14, just before the ground really started to freeze.

Problem: tempting spring bulb sales very late in the season.