Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ademink_gw

Sandy - Green Roof

ademink
17 years ago

Ok, I'm into this green roof idea. I have a few questions. Do you have to install a specific type of roof in order to do this? I'd love to eventually do this to my garden shed roof but it will have to be down the road. Do you have to plan for it in construction or can you pretty much "retro fit" a roof for it?

Do you have pics of yours?

Comments (15)

• youreit
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Me, too, Sandy! I want to hear and see more!

Brenda

• pondmaninfl
    17 years ago

By "Green Roof", are you refering to having grass growing on your roof? I would imagine that you might need to beef up the roof trusses and decking.

I've never done it but have seen pictures and what I'm saying is from a carpenters veiw point. I'm not a carpenter but I am a woodworker and have been around construction all of my life. I have built my own workshops when I lived in Alabama and designed the roofs to handle the weather that they would be subjected to in that area. If I was going to have a green roof, I would use trusses constructed with 2x8's with a 3/4" sub decking using pressure treated plywood then concrete backer board. Then I would put on a layer of rubber roofing and then a layer of landscape fabric. Make sure that you leave a ridge on the edge of the roof to keep the sod from sliding off. I say sod because you might have a problem with keeping topsoil on the roof until the grass could fill in.

This is just the way that I would do it. I'm not saying that it is the right way.

G'day,
    Scott

• sleeplessinftwayne
    17 years ago