Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheepco

Yeah!! My 1st Service Dog Team just certified!!

sheepco
17 years ago

I'm so proud of them!!

{{gwi:171957}}

I've been a field trainer for Hearing and Service Dogs of MN for several years and have trained 4 Hearing Dog teams but this is my 1st Service Dog team. Not that I did much, the wonderful staff and volunteers at HSDM trained 'Merlin' very well, and he was placed with Neil just 3 weeks ago. (Neil has Cerebral Palsy) The 3 of us put in alot of hours in these 3 short weeks and today it paid off when they passed both their public access and home skills portions of their certification test with flying colors!

{{gwi:171958}}

{{gwi:171959}}

'Merlin' can open drawers, shut doors, push handicap door buttons, retrieve anything Neil wants or drops (including a dime off the floor)and go get help if Neil asks. He can sit or down and stay while a stranger steps over him or under a restuarant table while you drop french fries on the floor. And after all that and more, 'Merlin' gives Neil more independence, more sense of security and of course, unconditional love.

Look out world, my guys are goin' places now!!!!

Comments (20)

• sockmonkeyz6
    17 years ago

Congratulations to all of you! That is SO great! Merlin is so precious and smart! Neil has a wonderful life ahead of him with his new buddy!

• sheepco
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank-you Socks, I'm still just SO thrilled they did this!

Neil was on a waiting list for 4 years with another organization, but was 'matched' with a dog within a month after applying to HSDM, so he is over the moon! And 'Merlin' was rescued from a pound as a 10 month old incorrigable pup. Neil works for a Walmart, in the returns department, and 'Merlin' will go to work with him every day. Neil also rides horses once a week for therapy, 'Merlin' hasn't met the horses yet, that's NEXT week!