Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marsrising

Waterproof concrete sealers are too expensive

marsrising
16 years ago

I'm just getting into this whole water feature thing, although I was into it as a child. That was container gardening though, which is nothing in comparison with the project I've recently started.

I decided to use concrete, because it's real, and because I like real.

Mistake number one, was thinking that, because it's such a small feature, I would be able to get away with using a small amount of concrete. Needles to say, I'm pretty much having to redo it.

Mistake number two, was trying to take shortcuts halfway through, which ended up taking longer, because, again, I had to start over.

This time, I know better than to try to cut corners, but I do think that it's ridiculous that I should have to purchase an overpriced concrete sealer to waterproof the pond. I figure if more than 2,000 years ago, there were fountains, ponds, and baths--all without the use of monomer or polymer, that I should be able to do the same. I try to do things the way they were done before all of these laboratories started telling us that their way is the only way.

I just don't buy it.

So, I've used the traditional concrete recipie, and redone the pond with 3" of concrete. Tomorrow, I will add a layer of lime and powdered silica sand (I'm going to have to crush the sand myself). Apparently if the sand is powdered, it becomes reactive with the lime, and creates a waterproof seal. It is the way it was done thousands of years ago, and I think it's worth a try, at only $6.