Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rovenorth

Recommendations for pump and Venturis?

rovenorth
10 years ago

Greetings ...

I am new to the Pond Forum and have enjoyed reading various posts.

In Spring 2013 I excavated a 50' diameter by 5.5' deep pond on the low side of my property. Its unlined, and fed by groundwater and roof downspouts. Its currently holding water nearly to its brim (approximately 80,000 gallons), and migratory birds (mostly ducks) land on it a lot, much to my delight.

Come Spring I know phase two of creating and maintaining this pond will involve attending to its ecology. I do not intend to have fish in it, nor do I intend to install a decorative sort of waterfall.

For energy efficiency and ease of maintenance, I've tentatively decided on an external pump. I would like to keep the purchase under $500, and am thinking something on the order of 3500 to 5000 gph will be sufficient for starters. The array of pumps on the market is pretty dizzying! I would appreciate hearing recommendations on reliable pumps.

I am aware a 3500 to 5000 gph pump likely will be insufficient to maintain healthy oxygen levels. To increase oxygenation, I will install one (or more) venturi units. On venturis, that's basically my question. If one is good, would splitting the pipe such that I could install two or three be a good idea?? I've seen multiple rave reviews of venturis, but have yet to encounter any for installing more than one on the same pump.

Many thanks, and happy ponding! Is "ponding" a word? If not, it should be ...

Comments (6)

• joe_09
    10 years ago

look into the performance pro.the 1/4 hp will pump 4900 gal/hr 9 ft high.uses 300 watts.been running mine for 12 yrs.

• garyfla_gw
    10 years ago

Hi
    So you intend to maintain it for birds?? Will your water supply keep it filled or will there be periods of low water