Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hertfordnc

NC pond - newbie needs advice

Hertfordnc
11 years ago

I just bought a property with about .2 acres of overgrown pond.

It is a breeding ground for mice, venomous snakes and of course, mosquitos. The property also has a severe wasp problem. Not sure if that's also related to the ponds ecosystem. Assuming filling it is not an option, i'm looking for ideas to make it a "feature" rather than a blight.

I also need some education on what i can legally do to it as the Army Corps of Engineers considers it a wetland.

For instance, they told me i can cut down the trees but i can't pull them out by the root.

I could see it as a very pretty place with turtles basking, frogs croaking and fish thriving on mosquito larve but i have no experience with this and no idea where to start.

Is there a practical way to control mosquitoes? Aeration?

What's the best way to make it unpleasant for snakes?

Does the pond contribute to the wasp problem?

I am in Eastern NC on the zone 7/8 line.

here's a photo- the pond is very close to the house.

http://silvabullets.com/maple2/target5.html
Thanks

Dave Silva

Comments (7)

• chas045
    11 years ago

First, I wonder if you have to call those things growing out of the bog to be trees. They look like big weeds to me.

Assuming you mean yellow jackets and not hornets. They live in the ground and probably wouldn't be right under the water. I doubt that the bog is a specific issue with them.

• Hertfordnc
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Actually, what we have is a whole lot of paper wasps. As the place was empty for a while they built nests all over the house. Neighbor says they are a real problem.
    My limited understanding is that they live in the woods so what i am seeing is an expansion of territory from the woods to the house. On the other side of the pond are a lot of pine trees, a few big ones a decade worth of uncontrolled seedlings.