Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bob_nevin

Lolla is floating on her side, Mr Jiggles is upset!

bob_nevin
12 years ago

Hi

Years ago I gave my friend a couple of goldfish that are really squat, round and have double tails.

My friend called me and told me that Lolla was floating on top of the water and was on her side. He told me her scales were not lifted, but thought she might be a little bloated, but since he was not used to seeing her on her side, he was not really sure if was indeed bloated, this fish normally looks fat. I told him to take her out and he has her in a container with water from the pond. I had him put a spoon of rock salt in the water. I know we should test the water, of course, but I was wandering if anyone here may have a clue to what it may be. Thank you for your help.

Comments (23)

• Smurfishy
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

She should have a tablespoon of salt per gallon. This could be a swim bladder problem but I am not an expert. When this happened to my pearlscale that supposedly had dropsy it died soon after. What kind of goldfish is this, if you aren't sure you can go here: http://www.desktopgoldfish.com/goldfish-types.php to figure it out. Make sure he has a filter on the quarantine tank with media from the pond filter, and an air bubbler. This should be done ASAP, next test your water parameters. After this go to koko's goldfish forum 911 emergency page and state your problem. You will get immediate expert attention. If this fish dies it is important to still follow up on this as the other goldie might be soon to suffer the same fate which could be preventable. Also, is the fish in the house? If so he needs to make sure its not going through too fast a temp change, he can remedy this by checking often and adding cool water as needed. 3 degrees change per hour is the limit. Wishing you the best!

Here is a link that might be useful: goldfish 911

• Smurfishy
    12 years ago