Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindyjp

Planning to start my first koi pond

lindyjp
13 years ago

Hi all! I am a newbie here and am looking for some information from the koi pond veterans out there. I want to start up a pond this spring and have been reading about the appropriate priducts that I should get to make sure the pond is healthy for my koi. I am looking at building a 10-15000 gallon pond. The calculators on the web show the desired pumps to turnover the water once per 1.5 hours. Is this truly ideal? Is a UV sterilizer a must? I would like to avoid netting my pond but I am concerned with blue herron. If I make the pond drop deep right from the edge will that help keep them safe? Again, I am new to this so my ignorance is just my process of gaining as much knowledge as I can before investing a good chunk of money in a healthy pond and not a fish killing algae pit.

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• nkm56
    13 years ago

Your plans for a pond sound good. Definitely make the drop deep from the edge. Shelves, particularly the many level stair-step kind, not only provide easy access for predators to utilize when entering your pond, but also alter the usual formula for estimating water volume. .

A UV is great for elminating green water, but low stocking levels of fish and good filters should accomplish that as well. Some people use bog filters and veggie filters, which compete with the algae for nutrients. A word on algae, though. Every pond gets a bit of carpet algae on the bottom and the walls. This is normal and healthy.

If you can, install a couple of bottom drains. That is one thing I did not do that I really wish I had.

• sleeplessinftwayne
    13 years ago