Return to the Ponds & Aquatic Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pond with stream

Posted by psihiart CT (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 28, 14 at 5:26

Hello, I'm very new to this but always dreamed about having my fish. I bought a house that have natural pond that fed by stream. Its oval 20 by 40 feet and gets gradually deeper up to 5 -6 feet in a center of it. Right now water is crystal clear with running stream, but I remember in a summer when we had no rain for a long time water was brownish and low since stream disappeared at this time. My question is : 1)do I have to run filter if stream is active and water going at one end of pond and escaping at other? 2? there is a lot of leaves on a bottom of pond now from surrounding trees .Should I remove all leaves from pond before getting koi(that's what Iam planning to do.
Any input appreciated .

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pond with stream

I don't have koi and was hoping someone with koi experience would address your questions. Most of us here probably don't have experience with natural streams either. However I believe it is safe to say that filtration and other bio-cleaning should not be necessary in a free running situation.

I have a long artificial stream, and (as I have mentioned even recently), I believe it is doing almost all of my cleaning and treatment. I always have clear water unless I have disturbed the stream or pond bottoms; and they become clear within a couple hours or a day depending on the masses of muddy bottom I may have disturbed.