Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catherinet11

Lining a 300 gallon Rubbermaid stocktank

catherinet
11 years ago

I was going to try to fix the ever-expanding crack in my above-ground stocktank, but I've decided to not waste my time. I've tried it in the past with other stocktanks, with no luck.

I've never used a liner. Since I'm not good at math, can anyone who has done this, tell me what size of liner I should buy? I hate the idea of it sticking out of the water, but its going to have to. I was thinking I could pull it over the lip of the stocktank, and anchor it to the sides, all the way around it.

This stocktank is for water lilies in containers only. But I sometimes set a plastic milkcrate in there. Should I put something like old carpet underneath the liner, or is that unnecessary in a stocktank?

Do you usually buy your liners locally, or online?
Thanks for your help!

Comments (14)

• catherinet
    Original Author
    11 years ago

P.S.

I was thinking about this more, and maybe I don't need any kind of expensive liner...........just enough to get me through the season. When the season is over, I would empty the stocktank, take out the liner and turn the stocktank over. Of course, I would really like to reuse the plastic, but maybe for what I need, I shouldn't spend too much on it. ?? Its just that one darned crack that's causing the problem.

• cherokee_joeshoeboot
    11 years ago

Since you are just using it for one season I would recommend just using a cheap plastic or vinyl liner. If you plan to set pots inside I would use some sort of buffering material since plastic and vinyl are more prone to damage than EPDM.