Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reads_n_writes

pondless fountain

reads_n_writes
13 years ago

Hi all,

I'm thinking of putting in a pondless fountain--possibly several. I have some large 55 gallon plastic drums that I plan to use for the reservoirs and some leftover plastic sheeting from a greenhouse project to direct water back to the container. These fountains will be in low spots where water tends to pool after it rains. I'd like to make these spots more than just areas of unsightly dead grass.

So, what I need to know is, what do you think would be the best/most reliable/lowest maintenance/most efficient pump I could buy for this project? I plan to use metal grating and hardware cloth to cover the top then have it lined with rocks with a bubbler or small fountain and a dish for water to pool-in/ drip from.

I've never done anything like this before. What do you think? Is the idea sound? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

Alina

Here is a link that might be useful: www.alinabklein.com

Comments (6)

• ernie_m
    13 years ago

Well... you don't see many answers cause we all have PONDS. [grin]

For a pump suggestion you can't go wrong with a Pondmaster pump. They are a very efficient design, with the electronic part all sealed with an opening where the impeller goes. The impeller is the part that wears out after 3+ years, and they sell replacements. Keeping it clean is the only maintenance, mine needed to be disassembled and wiped out this spring after laying dormant at my pond bottom all winter. I don't expect to have to touch it till next year.

This is my 4th year with it. The original impeller died shortly after I bought it but the store I bought it from did a warranty replacement for it and that has run fine. I even have one in my hot tub that pumps hot chemical laden water that ran 2 years before needing a new impeller, now on its 3rd year.