Return to the Ponds & Aquatic Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pond construction - allow for plant pockets, plant in gravel?

Posted by jcjcjcx Ontario, Canada (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 6, 08 at 20:40

I was wondering if anyone plants directly in the gravel or in plant pockets?
I've been using aquatic baskets for several years. But now that I'm rebuilding my pond, I'm thinking of adding in plant pockets, or at leaving areas where I can plant directly in the gravel. Not sure if creating a plant pocket is necessarily better than just planting in the gravel.

Also I realize that not using baskets means I have to watch that the plants don't get too out of control, but I'm always trimming and tiding the plants anyways. I read that planting directly into the pond is supposed to give a more naturalized look (which is what I'm after).

Opinions anyone?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pond construction - allow for plant pockets, plant in gravel?

Hi
Have tried many different ways over the years and IMO plain old pots sitting on the bottom is the most versatile.
Here's what I like about it.
Can quickly and easily change the media for individual plants, can fertilize just one plant and use different types. Can be removed to vacuum the bottom. If plant A is shadowing plant B too much can easily move it. Can easily change the depth the plant is growing by sitting it on another pot.
Water lilies in particular I can get bigger,more and more robust flowers . For example Blue Goddess. Growing in straight cat litter with fruit tree spikes. 14 inch flowers standing two feet out of the water.24 inch pads.
Same plant in same media for two years . 12 inch flowers
Growing in mud on bottom . 10 inch flowers much more prone to offset rather than flower.
IME the number one reason lol INVASIVE most water plants are this way and plain old pots gives you the most control. gary

o

• Posted by youreit z9b CA Sunset z8-9 (My Page) on
    Fri, Mar 7, 08 at 8:37