Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wynswrld98

Electricity cost to run pond pump/filter 20' x 30' x 2.5'

Wayne Reibold
15 years ago

I purchased a house that has a large hole in the ground that neighbors say was a pond at one time. It's 20' x 30' x 2.5' deep. The pond is at the bottom of a slope above it. What I'd like to do is build a waterfall at the top of the slope about 40' above, a lined rock covered stream from the waterfall down to the pond and have the pump pump the water up to the waterfall from the pond to recirculate it and also have a filter. I'm in a suburb of Seattle/Tacoma Washington.

My question is anyone's rough guess of what the electricity cost would be running a pump/filter that can handle this type of pond/waterfall? I want some guess of this before I undertake the project so I don't do all of this then realize the monthly electricity bill is prohibitively expensive. I'm a total newbie, have never done any kind of water feature before.

I'm leaning toward NOT having any fish in the pond if that affects how much the pump/filter must run per day.

Comments (10)

• camperman
    15 years ago

It will be a lot, as you face several issues.

First issue: This is a very large pond you are looking at, in the range of 11,000 gallons (using the calculations you provided). It sounds as if someone had a very serious koi pond at one time. Although you state you are leaning toward not keeping fish, I would want bottom drains installed in a pond of this size, or you will end up with a mucky mess in a couple of years. If this was a properly designed koi pond, some of that plumbing may still be in place. So the first consideration is that you will need a pump that will filter something on the order of 5,500 to 10,000 gallons per hour, 24 hours a day. A Dolphin Ampmaster ES5500 external pump would perform this function relatively inexpensively, at about 286 watts per hour. I've seen that pump listed for around $400.