Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shw104

Newbie pond.. questions..

shw104
12 years ago

Hi everyone...

I'm getting ready to start my first pond... it will be relatively small.. roughly 6'x5' by roughly 30" deep. It will be in a fairly shady location and is the maximum size I can make it in the location I have to work with. I have room to add a water fall but will do that later, once the pond is set up and running.

I'm having a lot of problems determining what type and size pump and filter I should use. I know I have a ton of options but looking for advice what works well in similar size ponds.

The pond is located in a highly visible area near my front porch so I need to keep equipment hidden as much as possible.

I've been looking at the small pressurized filters that you can partially bury adjacent to the pond but I'm really lost here..

I have a lot of experience with inside aquariums but new to the world of garden ponds. As the pond is small, I'll only have a few goldfish so the filter load should not be high. I'm going to do a lot of planting around the pond so this pond is probably 60% for the plants and 40% for the fish.

I'm looking to keep this simple and easy as I'm a rooking and doing it all myself.

Thanks for the help!!!

Scott

Comments (4)

• shakaho
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I think you want a bog filter. I am building a small pond with similar restrictions, and finally decided this was the way to go. I initially built the pond with shallow plant area, but I wasn't happy with the look of any filters I made. I am now walling off the plant area for the bog filter. I will pump water from the bottom of the pond, over the wall and to the bottom of the bog filter, where it will be released through a "holey" pipe, and percolate up through gravel to empty back into the pond through a spillway. The top of the grave will be heavily planted, so the filter looks like a garden.