Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeff_in_wi

how do I winterize my skimmer

jeff_in_wi
12 years ago

We recently moved to a new house and I am in the planning and design stage of a new pond. I have been ponding for 20 years now � but this pond will be a little larger than what I have had in the past. I am thinking about a roughly 1,000 gallon pond with a skippy-type filter. I am planning to use a skimmer for the first time. I will have a 2,000 GPM pump located in skimmer feeding the skippy and then over a waterfall.

I may be getting ahead of myself, but I have already purchased the pump and the skimmer. The skimmer is a Atlantic Water Gardens, Oasis PS3900.

So, here is my question . . . What do I need to do when I winterize the skimmer? I live in Green Bay, WI (zone 4) (typically down to -20 F in winter). Obviously, the first step is to remove the pump. Do I need to remove the wier door or do I drain the pond down to below the skimmer? What is the current procedure?

Jeff

Comments (5)

• pondbucket
    12 years ago

Jeff, You certainly live in a harsher winter climate but I don't do much with my skimmer to be quite honest.

But in a Green Bay winter you are going to need to probably stop moving water the way you have all summer-long.

Net pond in fall.
    Move aquatic plants down or out.
    Remove netting.
    Late Fall cleaning.
    Turn off & remove pump.

Caveat: Remove the pump(s), and if you have fish then establish a large bubbler (alternate pump) to keep at least a small section of pond free of ice.

Unless you get a lot of hard freeze then thaws, repeating, I would think that the skimmer door wouldn't be a problem. I've never considered removing my inlet door (a Savio skimmer).

Some winters I've removed my pumps from the bottom of the skimmer; I think I did that the first winter, then the second winter I turned them off but left them in without issue.