Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mushibu10

what plants for medium pond

mushibu10
10 years ago

hello,

so my parents have been at current house for many years, there has been a square brick area full of sand and heavy heavy clay, and full of bricks, it turns out it was concrete lined. so I am going to turn it into pond.

it's close to the house. as you can see in spring it's not in full Sun but in summer it is. and winter no sun just shade.

it's 5x5ft and currently 1.5ft deep. (I want to go deeper to 2 foot (the concrete base) but there is a massive round concrete stone) the image is before I hit the round stone.

my mum wants fish, but I don't know. I want water lilies /lotus (blue!)

so what I am asking is, what plants, and what should I do?

I am very new to this so please ask lots of questions so i I and you can get the correct information. and o know that's alot to ask. but online is rather limited when I don't know what to search.

thank you

Leo

Comments (6)

• chas045
    10 years ago

Are you saying that you believe that your area was once a pond made from a cement bottom and sides. Or do you just believe there are cement sides to keep the bricks stable. A dome at the bottom suggests a pond with a fountain (and plumbing) may have existed originally.

It would be good to be down at least two feet for pond lilies. And yes, a little deeper would probably be better. That is certainly true for fish too. I suppose it normally gets cold down to 15 degrees F in your winter? Were you wanting lotus plants or just lily plants in the blue color similar to a lotus? I got some lotus from a swap meet one time and realized they certainly wouldn't make it thru a cold winter, and couldn't figure out how to save them. I may be wrong, but I suspect you would have to reacquire them each year.

• mushibu10
    Original Author
    10 years ago

hello,

indeed I believe it was before. it has concrete base and sides. (would/should I still need to rubber line it?)