Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aggierose_gw

What's the trick to clear water?

aggierose
11 years ago

I'm still very new to this. My pond was very clear for the first few weeks, even without a filter. Then it rained and it's been a disaster ever since. I finally got a filter and hooked it up last week, but it's not making a difference. My pond is 300 gallons and I have a mag drive 1200 gph pump and a laguna pressure flow filter with a uv light. What do I need to do to get clear water? Does the filter just need more time to clear the water? I can't see any of my fish which is taking the fun out of being a pond owner! :(

Comments (8)

• pondbucket
    11 years ago

If you're limiting dirt or leaves from entering the water and you have good filtration then you probably just need to give it time.

You can try adding beneficial bacteria. I keep a bottle around and work it into my weekly maintenance routine.

Most pumps have a fine filter that needs regular cleaning, especially if the water is dirty. You didn't mention if you have a skimmer like assembly so I'm going to assume that you do not. If you had this then there often is a large fine filter between the leaf basket and the pump chamber. I clean that filter at least weekly and more often in spring.

If you simply have cloudy water you may wish to try a product like AccuClear that helps bind particles suspended in the water. I really only use this on my water garden's water to help polish it once it has really settled for the spring / summer and fall.

• jalal
    11 years ago