Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
insipidtoast

Why Do Home Ponds Need All This Technology? Natural Ponds Don't

insipidtoast
13 years ago

Greetings from Southern California!

I am new to pond culture, but have maintained small, indoor aquariums in the past.

We have an oval-shaped pool in our backyard that is about 10-12' deep at the deepest part, and 4' deep at the shallowest part. We'd like to stop adding chlorine to the water, and then eventually stock it with edible fish.

I've been reading a lot about providing moving water, aerating pumps, filters, vacuums and other technological inputs. Why do we need to use these things? Natural ponds have plenty of healthy, edible fish in them without needing any technology whatsoever.

Do I just need to plant more aquatic plants, and use niche animals such as detritivore crayfish, bottom-dwelling catfish, algae eating fish, snails, snail-eating fish, etc?

Comments (32)

• curb1
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

There are many "natural ponds" the size you are talking about that can't support any kind of fish. Oxygen is important. A healthy natural ecosystem is more complex than the technology we use for our ponds.

• catherinet
    13 years ago

Yes, natural ponds are alot more ecologically complex than our kind of ponds.
    But I would say that plants are really important......all kinds of water plants.
    Even in my small stocktank ponds, when the plants get growing, the water really clears up.
    Having fish in a pond really changes things though. I think you'll just have to do a trial and error thing. But oxygen is the name of the game.

• terrestrial_man
    13 years ago

The real issue is the carrying capacity of your pond.
    Inset the terms "carrying capacity of a pond" into a search engine and follow what links interest you.
    The use of aerators and flowing water help to increase the load that the pond can handle.
    On stocking for food fish in California you will need to check with the DFG