Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frankielynnsie

How to tell if lotus is alive

frankielynnsie
10 years ago

All of my waterlilies have leaves but the lotus has nothing. How do I tell if it is alive?

Comments (10)

• catherinet
    10 years ago

At least in my zone (5), hardy waterlilies are much earlier to sprout than lotuses are. What temperature zone are you in?
    What kind of container is your lotus in? When did you last thin it?

• frankielynnsie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I am in zone 7b and this is the 2nd year in a big waterlily pot. It didn't bloom last year, just many healthy leaves, and I hoped it would this year. I am waiting to see if anything happens but wondered how long I should wait. This has been my 2nd experience with a lotus, The 1st one didn't do so well and I studied up more for this one.

• catherinet
    10 years ago

Lotus require alot more heat than hardy waterlilies. What kind of lotus is it? Did you fertilize it last year? Did it freeze this winter?

• catherinet
    10 years ago

sorry.......double post.

This post was edited by catherinet on Sat, Apr 5, 14 at 21:20

• frankielynnsie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I did fertilize it and it did not freeze this year. Its name is Carolina Queen and it is a pink color. I am afraid to dig around in it so I will just keep waiting.

• catherinet
    10 years ago

Hi frankielynn,

I looked up that variety and it looks like its a large lotus.......meant for med-large ponds. It's quite possible that it's root-bound. But.......I had a lotus once that didn't blossom until the second year. That's not real uncommon.

Is it making leaves now? I would just wait and see.......but I'm thinking if it doesn't blossom this year, definitely thin it out in the fall or spring.