Return to the Ponds & Aquatic Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I bought a growing lotus, now what?

Posted by speckledhound 6a (My Page) on
Sun, May 11, 14 at 10:24

Yesterday I bought a Momo Botan lotus from a garden center. It has already sent up its first few coin leaves, and is planted in a small 8" container under just a few inches of water. I vaguely remember a gardening friend telling me that once a lotus is growing, it should not be re-potted. Now I'm nervous about how I should proceed. I was so excited yesterday that I forgot to ask these detailed questions to the nursery staff! I am planning on growing it in a container roughly the size of a half barrel, which can be moved into a garage over the winter. Is it now too late to re-pot it? If I put the current container into the barrel, will it harm the lotus if I submerge the coin leaves? How should I proceed? Thank you for any and all advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I bought a growing lotus, now what?

I'm no expert, but I have a little experience with lotus. Don't repot now that it is growing. Also don't submerge the coin leaves. One time I sumerged a lotus that had about 4 coin leaves about a foot below the surface and went on vacation. When I got back a week later, it had apparently drowned. All I know is that the original leaves never made it to the surface again and it never sent up any more.

This post was edited by nmpondguy on Sun, May 11, 14 at 15:02

o
RE: I bought a growing lotus, now what?

nmpondguy, thank you for your response. It is sound and wise advice. HOWEVER....I am not known to follow sound and wise advice. ;)