Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennypat_gw

Newbie to aquatics

I am new to aquatic plants, but not new to gardening in general. I want to try some out, but am not ready to commit to a whole pond. I purchased (impulse) 3 water type plants from Lowes, 1 water lily, 1 cattail type and 1 more (can't remember the name off hand)they are growing in a bucket of water right now.

I have a whiskey barrel, and plan to get a liner for it. I also have an old red water pump. I am thinking about putting them together into a water feature. I thought water trickling from the pump into the barrel would be nice. But don't know if I will have time to rig that part.

My questions are:

Do I NEED to have the water moving?

CAN I put a fountain of some type with these?

What do I do about mosquito larve?

Do I need to treat the water in any way?

Is full sun ok? or do I need part sun?

Thank you!

Jenny P

Comments (9)

• somethinsfishy
    12 years ago

Hi Jenny,
    I would have the water moving to help with the mosquitos but they do make a mosquito deterant that is plant/animal safe for birdbaths etc., I can't remember the brand. Also, I had mine in full sun and the plants didn't live long but the container I had mine in was pretty shallow. If you don't care if the water is green I don't think you need to treat the water but you may add fertilizer.

• catherinet
    12 years ago

Hi Jenny,
    It definitely helps to have a little water movement. When I had a whiskey barrel water garden, I just had a small fountain pump, which was plenty for that little container.
    Unless its a dwarf/miniature water lily, it will outgrow your container in about a week!
    I have a couple 300 gallon stocktank (above ground) watergardens that don't have water movement and they do fine, as long as I have a fair amount of plant material in them.........like a medium-large water lily and a couple marginals.
    You can probably leave yours in full sun, since you're in MN.