Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris_in_ct

Rocks in the pond

chris_in_ct
13 years ago

Hi All,

I know this has been a frequent topic here, but I'm in my second year with my pond and wanted a minor clarification on the rocks-in-pond question. For those that have fairly large ponds, 2000 gallons plus, do you have rocks in your pond? If you do, do you leave them off the bottom and only place on the ledges/sides or do you go full on the bottom too? I have a ledge around the interior of my pond and have used that to place a layer of rock to facilitate hiding the edge liner. But, right below those rocks, about 12 inches down below the top water level I can easily see my liner as I have gotten my water pretty clear. I dont like seeing the liner at all. Do some of you run rocks down the sides and just leave the bottom clear or is the consensus to keep as much rock out of the pond as possible?

Sorry to open this can of worms on the ponding forum again (punny!)...

-Chris

Here is a link that might be useful: My Pond Gallery

Comments (12)

• horton
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Chris, I completely agree with Nancy about having rocks on the bottom of a pond. It is an individual choice, I personally would not advocate the practice of having rocks on the bottom, because of the build up of gunk, uneaten fish food, etc, and the potential problems that can develop from that situation.

I do however, have flat field-stones covering the liner on the shallow water shelf, which slopes from four inches deep to about eight inches inwards and runs around the outer edge of my pond. From the inside edge of the slope the walls of the pond drop down straight.
    I do keep the top surface of those stone slabs clean,which along with occasionally blasting out the crevices between the stones, with a sharp stream of water, is extra work, as Nancy also noted.
    But that is my choice and I do like the effect and look of the field-stone under the water.