Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ann_hargreaves

Solar Pond Pump

Ann Hargreaves
14 years ago

I'm building a smallish pond (about 4' x 7') with about a 2 ft waterfall. I'm interested in getting a solar powered pump. Has anyone had success with this? If so, could you share what kind of pump you used? I'm also new to ponds. I dug it out to be about 3 ft at the deapest - will that be enough to keep raccoons from eating the fish? Do I need the pump to run continuously, or will just during the day work? How many gph should I use? How many watts should the pump be, etc. Thanks.

Comments (12)

• marcelj
    14 years ago

Tried one from ebay,TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!Never worked got no help from supplier.Save time money get an ac model.

• riverspots
    14 years ago

When I was looking for a pond pump last spring, the solar pumps existing then were either too weak or over $300 for even a small pump. Electric pumps made more sense at that time. If you go electric, do get a mag drive-fewer moving parts and less problematic. Do compare power consumption (wattage)-some pumps are much more efficient than others, hence cheaper to use. Pondmaster is one reliable brand; there are others. There are also some that aren't so reliable so search models under consideration for reviews.

My pond is roughly the same size and does well with a 800gph pump. But your waterfall is a little higher so, without doing math, I think a pump around 1000gph would ensure enough flow through your filter and over a narrow (less than 6 in wide) waterfall. There is a formula for minimal pump size based on width and height of waterfall-I don't know it but I'm sure it would pop up in a search.