Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lizzygracepond

Parrot Feather DEAD & Gold Fish won't eat ??

lizzygracepond
13 years ago

Hi, My Parrot Feather died!

I have a pre-formed pond about 125 gal. I am NEW to this but have read many posts. I have a pump that circulates the water, no filter (yet), the water is clear, and the pond is mostly shaded. My house is new to me - it came with a dead pond. I cleaned the pond out about 2 months ago. I filled it and got 5 goldfish.

I put two plants in it. Hyacinth and Parrot Feather. During the last week, the Parrot Feather has slowly died. A few tips are green, but it is basically dead. I just put them in the water loosely. Any idea why it died and if I should be concerned?

The Hyacinth is doing great, growing well and appear happy.

I would like to get more plants but want to figure out why my parrot feather died first...

The fish seem happy, but don't appear to eat. I throw the feed pellets down to the pond from a window far above (hoping I don't scare the fish-they stay at the bottom of the pond). They never come up to eat. Hmmm...

Any suggestions?

Thanks... LizzyGracePond

Comments (5)

• goodkarma_
    13 years ago

Hi Lizzy and welcome to the forum! I wonder if your fish nibbled the roots off the parrots feather? I am sure others will chime in with their ideas soon.

Lisa

• riverspots
    13 years ago

How warm is your water? I'm in zone 7. We've had a cold spell recently where overnight temps dropped below 40. In a small shaded pond like yours, the water would quickly cool. If the water was cold enough, could be that it was too cold for the parrot feather to establish itself. If the water is cold enough, the fish won't eat, either.

• lizzygracepond
    Original Author
    13 years ago