Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
profsuzy

Too many frogs?

profsuzy
11 years ago

First, let me confess that I'm new to ponds. We had ours put in last fall by a professional landscaper. It's about 1000 gallons with a waterfall. Three of the 5 goldfish we put in last fall are doing great. However, we now have a lot of frogs - and literally hundreds of tadpoles as well. If all of these tadpoles make it to maturity, it's going to be like the plague of frogs in the bible. I've read lots of posts in this forum in which people seemed to be thrilled when their ponds get a few frogs, but is there such a thing as too many frogs? Is there anything I should do about this impending plague? I've also noticed what almost looks like suds on the surface of the water over the past week or two and I'm wondering if that might have something to do with the frogs and/or tadpoles. Thanks in advance for any wisdom you more experienced pond-meisters might have for me.

Comments (9)

• chas045
    11 years ago

For some reason or reasons, almost all of the tadpoles don't make it. I have a massive collection of tadpoles now. I have had a couple of years with a large number of small toads but most of them disapear as well. I wouldn't worry about it. I don't know about the foam.

• annedickinson
    11 years ago

I agree with chas. Even with hundreds of tadpoles, you will most likely not be over-run with frogs. Frogs seem to be nomadic and most just drift elsewhere.

If, once the tadpoles have morphed into frogs, you do have more frogs than you like, you can always catch some and move them to a wet natural area or find another ponder who wants frogs.

As far as the foam goes, that could be from the fish spawning. Five goldfish could create quite a bit of foam.

Good luck with your new pond.

Anne

• brownthumbia
    11 years ago