Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
koi_n_utah

skippy filter design?

koi_n_utah
16 years ago

I noticed when building my skippy filter that if I use a Tee fitting instead of a 90 for the top connection to the pump hose from the pond that I get air bubbles in the filter due to the open tee on top.

Has anyone tried this? I would guess the added oxygen would help the good bacteria grow but I'm new to this skippy filter & it has only been running for a couple of weeks.

Comments (18)

• loma_ponder
    16 years ago

koi_n_utah,

I'm not visualizing this set-up. How does the water NOT just come squirting out the open connection? Is it so weak by the time it reaches your skippy that gravity takes control? Please include a picture so as to enlighten me.

And oh, in my opinion, yes I believe the added oxygen would greatly benefit the filter.

LP

• koi_n_utah
    Original Author
    16 years ago

The water gargles & does come squirting up with just the Tee, but what I did was add a short piece of pipe to extend the top of the tee & the water doesnt come out that way. This setup also creates an air break to stop backflow in case the pump stops running. (A cheap check valve).
    I emailed the skippy people & they said, "I have never tried it, so I dont know." Not much help.

• koi_n_utah
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I was also wondering about my media setup. I used the round plastic pot scrubbies from the dollar store, about 250 of them in a 70 gal stock tank. I placed them in laundry bags & put a few rocks on top to hold them down. I noticed that there is a few uncovered areas where the water can get by the scrubbies. Is this ok or Would it be better to just let them float or buy more?

• tmg1963
    16 years ago

I leave mine loose in the skippy. Have some water hyacinth and spearmint on the water above. I don't have any open spaces.

Mine is 100 gallon container - 180 scrubbies in the water - but mine are the green 4 x 6 rectangular ones.

• koi_n_utah