Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ibheri

Please advise - a complete newbie

ibheri
12 years ago

Hello, I live in Texas and have a small backyard. I do some lasanga gardening and have some old garden , david austin's and earthkind roses with some companion plants. As an extenstion I want to build a small pond. There probably is just about 20 feet of space from the wall to the fence, so I would think a very small pond. I am reading up some info and talking to some friends on the TX garden web forum. Can you please suggest a good book to start with? I am googling for some info but thought a book or two may help. I work close to the public library, so definetly can borrow as many books as I can get my hands on :) I am looking to do this a long term project, not something I am in a rush for to get done over the next couple of weekends. I do have a 3 yr old and I want to be extremely cautious with what I want to build. Kindly advise.

Comments (12)

• pcan
    12 years ago

From one newbie to another, I didn't use a book... I researched online, including this forum, the pondlady (very good info) and other websites and picked the brains of pond guys at pond shops.

Keep in mind we started digging our first pond three weeks ago and the pond should be up and running within the next few weeks.

First you need to decide if you just want the water feature, a natural plant pond or a Kio pond. Depending on which type you want will give you a good idea where to start (BTW, Kio ponds need to be deeper with more filtration).

But as far as more specifics, there are a lot of knowledgable folks on here, I am sure they will chime in.

• ibheri
    Original Author
    12 years ago