Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hjbartling

Dug out pond...now what?

hjbartling
12 years ago

So....total newbie. Decided my yard needed a pond. Placed it just in front of our deck. It measures 6 ft. By 13.5 ft. It is 23 inches deep but does have a shallow end for birds. I do plan to have a small waterfall. I plan to add plants and goldfish.

? Do I need to install a drain? What pump should I consider? I will be installing an EPDM liner. I also will want a UV filter. Recommendations and suggestions will be greatly appreciated because I am totally clueless.

Thanks to the person who told me that I posted in the wrong spot.

Joanne

Comments (8)

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

You should get a magnetic drive pump, they use less electricity and fail less than cheaper pumps.

I use Pondmasters and have had great results with them.

• mammasue
    12 years ago

Real FISH people swear by bottom drains. If you want to install one, now is the time before you place the liner.

I consider myself a water gardener and I use a vac. With the size of your pond, you could probably use one also.

My best tip...don't put rocks in the bottom. They make a good place for the poop to hide from the vacuum.

Enjoy!

• annedickinson
    12 years ago

Joanne,

It sounds like a nice sized pond. If I were digging it I'd have some shelves at different depths for marginal plants(though some people don't like shelves because of raccoon problems) and I'd have a center part about 3' deep. The extra depth can help with temperature regulation.

I love the stream and waterfalls. Some days they are the best part of the ponding experience; just sitting there relaxing after a tough day at work, listening to the water and watching the birds and insects come for a drink - oh, yeah, the chipmonks too!

The bottom drain sounds like a nice idea come cleaning time.