Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisl1976

water lettuce has bugs

chrisl1976
16 years ago

I'll post pics tomorrow. only my water lettuce has tones of little black tiny bugs on them....they dont ssem to be hurting them any....just all over them.....seemed to happen over night since I didn't see them yesturday

They aren't on anything else....lilies, thalia, pickerel, ect.

Any thoughts??

Thanks

Chris

Comments (26)

• pfmastin
    16 years ago

I am no expert, but my guess is aphids. It seems like I recall having them on water lettuce in a water barrel at one time. I think I removed them and blasted them all off with water a few times and it took care of it. I hope this helps.

• scottspond
    16 years ago

Aphids?

Happy ponding,
    Scott

• chrisl1976
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I dont think they are aphids...at least not any pictures I can find on the internet seem to match.

{{gwi:209198}}

A bunch scraped on to a paper plate

{{gwi:212623}}

• mucky_waters
    16 years ago

Those are aphids alright.
    Aphids

• chrisl1976
    Original Author
    16 years ago

thank you....all the pictures I found of them had them kind of yellow looking

now how do I go about getting rid of them?

• watergal
    16 years ago

Aphids come in many colors. I often get them on my water lettuce. You can try mixing up some water and Ivory soap in a bowl, and dunking the leaves into it. Rinse well and keep out of the sun until it dries off. Repeat every few days for a week or so.

• joeyb5980
    16 years ago

I mix up 1/8 cup rubbing alcohol, 1/8 cup hydrogen peroxide, 8 drops of phosphate free liquid dish soap, and then top off with enough water to make 2 pints of the mixture. Put in spray bottle, spray aphids on leaves until drenched, leave on 30 minutes, then thoroughly rinse. Do not do this in the sun- it can burn leaves- do early in morning or late in evening. This method is per Sean, and has worked great for me- gets rid of them once and for all.

• catfishsam