Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lola6964

Half Barrel Pond Issues-Long

lola6964
10 years ago

I'm new to all of this and could really use some advice. I've had two half-whiskey barrel ponds for years. I set one a little higher than the other and pump water from the bottom one to the top and then water runs over a copper spout back into the lower pond.

This year I decided I wanted fish. In my ignorance, I went to Wal-Mart and bought some feeder goldfish, three for each barrel. One died within a week. I did some reading online and figured out I needed plants. Part of the problem is the closest place to buy anything pond related is 2 hours away. I mail ordered the plants and before they got here, another fish died. I think there wasn't enough oxygen in the water because he wound up on the copper spout like he had been gasping for air.

Now the plants are in the ponds, but there is green algae all over everything, and the plants don't even look that great. I bought 2 bunches of anacharis, a frogbit, a very small hardy lily, lemon bacopa, an arrow aurum and a dwarf papyrus. Yesterday I added a large water hyacinth to each barrel. The surface of the water is still mostly open, 80% at least.

The ponds are in shade except for the late afternoon when they get 2-4 hours of sun. Now another fish is hanging out near the water surface and I'm afraid he isn't get enough oxygen either. I do have a few large rocks on the bottom of each barrel that we collected from the riverbank near me-just something for the fish to hide under until the plants arrived. I've tested the ph-it's on the alkaline side. I'm using fleece and quilt batting (alternating) in the Wal-mart filter we bought to try to help clean up the green water.

Any help and suggestions would be appreciated before I lose anymore fish. I know they're just fish, but I like the little guys!

Thanks in advance!

Comments (17)

• lola6964
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago