Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
czecheart

newbie with contamination question

czecheart
11 years ago

Hi all, I am sooo glad I found this site today. I am a newbie here and our pond is only 10 days old, so am pond newbie too. Our pond was designed to utilize aquatic plants for filtration, etc. so we;re going about obtaining aquatic plants for that purpose.

Question: is there a concern or should there be a concern about cross- contamination when purchasing aquatic plants for the pond? What I mean is we ordered 100 plants to give them a try. They arrived today. The plants had small little red worms and black spots that were actually bugs on them. Some of the roots had duck weed on them. I have rinsed them all off in the sink and they are now in a pool in the backyard because I am afraid of putting them into the pond and possibly introducing contaminates. We also visited an aquatic greenhouse business today, many of the plants were setting in duckweed.

Note: Our pond is 1/2 acre lined pond. It was designed to be a natural swim pond, no fish (now), crystal clear and clean water, frogs- good, plants - important.

Can anybody shed any light on our concern and/or give advice on sterilizing these plants for our pond ?

Thanks.

Comments (4)

• kalevi
    11 years ago

Duckweed can be a nuisance but is not something to worry about. If you do get goldfish, they will eat it. The little red worms could be midge larvae. The little bugs could be anything. An outdoor pond will get all kinds of critters in no time even if everything you put in has been sterilized. Those of us who keep fish worry about introducing a parasite when introducing a new fish so a couple of weeks of quarantine is usually the way to prevent that.

• waterbug_guy
    11 years ago

Absolutely the plants will be contaminated with whatever was in the ponds the plants came from. Most nurseries don't keep Koi or even Goldfish in the ponds so threat of viruses should be low.